

# Minutes Special Council Meeting 31<sup>st</sup> October 2017

MINUTES of the Special Meeting of Council held in the Council Chambers at the Shire Administration Office – Prinsep Street Norseman on the 31st October 2017 commencing at 4.00pm

## **Table of Contents**

1	Declaration of Opening and Announcement of Visitors.	. 3
2	Declarations by newly Elected Members of Council	. 3
3	Election of the Shire President	. 3
	Election of the Deputy Shire President	
	Record of Attendance of Councillors / Officers and Apologies	
	Draw of Seating Positions at the Council Table	
	Disclaimer & Affirmation	
	Closure of Meeting	
	-	

## **1** Declaration of Opening and Announcement of Visitors.

In accordance with Schedule 2.3 (3) of the Local Government Act 1995 the CEO is to preside at this meeting until the office of Shire President is filled.

The CEO Doug Stead declared the meeting open at 4:00pm.

### 2 Declarations by newly Elected Members of Council

Newly elected council members have received a copy of the Local Government (Rules of Conduct) Regulations 2007 and the Shire of Dundas Code of Conduct.

Declarations on the prescribed form (Form 7) were made verbally and signed in front of an authorised person who witnessed the making of the declaration.

#### 3 Election of the Shire President

The position of Shire President becomes vacant after each ordinary election and Councillors need to elect a Shire President.

The election of the Shire President was conducted by the CEO in accordance with Schedule 2.3 (4) of the Act.

The CEO had received written nominations from the following:

Cr Hogan nominated Cr Bonza

There being no further nominations Cr Bonza was elected unopposed.

The Shire President Cr LG Bonza took the chair.

### 4 Election of the Deputy Shire President

The position of Deputy Shire President becomes vacant after each ordinary election and Councillors need to elect a Deputy Shire President.

The election of the Deputy Shire President was conducted in accordance with Schedule 2.3 (8) of the Act.

The CEO had received written nominations from the following:

Cr Hogan nominated Cr Patupis Cr Bonza nominated Cr Patupis

There being no further nominations Cr Patupis was elected unopposed.

## 5 Record of Attendance of Councillors / Officers and Apologies

Cr LG Bonza	Shire President
Cr AR Patupis	Deputy Shire President
Cr JEP Hogan	
Cr BN Bayley	
Cr SM Warner	
Cr VL Wyatt	

Doug Stead	Chief Executive Officer
Gihan Kohobange	Deputy Chief Executive Officer
Pania Turner	Manager of Community Development
Sonya Ellison	Senior Administration Officer

### **Public Gallery**

Jacquie Best, Lynn Webb and Bryce Bonza

## 6 Draw of Seating Positions at the Council Table

Standing Order 11.2 requires that at the first meeting attended by a Councillor after the election the CEO is to draw random lots for each Councillor at the Council table.

Councillors Bayley, Warner, Hogan, Wyatt and Patupis names were drawn for their new seating positions.

### 7 Disclaimer & Affirmation

The Shire President welcomed all in attendance and declared:

This Council meeting is being held on the traditional lands of the Ngadju people and I wish to acknowledge them as traditional owners and pay my respects to their elders, past and present.

The Chief Executive Officer read aloud the disclaimer that is on the front page of the agenda.

The Shire President read aloud the Affirmation of Civic Duty and Responsibility.

## 8 Closure of Meeting

Jacquie Best requested through the Shire President to address the Council. Jacquie Best wished all the best success for the new Council and their future endeavours for the community.

There being no further business the Shire President thanked all those in attendance and declared the meeting closed at 4:18pm.