Local Government Elections 

This year the Local Government Elections for the Shire of Dundas will be held on Saturday, 16 October 2021 and will be conducted by Postal Vote.

The 2021 election will be conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) who appoints a Returning Officer to oversee the election including taking candidate nominations and supervising the count on election night. The Shire of Dundas' Returning Officer for 2021 is yet to be determined.

What are local government elections?

Local Government elections provide an opportunity to run for Council. Councillors work within the Community, making decisions that benefit residents of the Shire of Dundas. Councillors are elected for four-year terms and elections are held for half of Council every two years. 

Who can vote?

Residents who are enrolled on the WA State electoral roll for an address within the Shire’s boundaries are automatically enrolled on the local government roll. Non-resident owners and non-resident occupiers of rateable property are not automatically enrolled. Enrolments can be checked on the WA Electoral Commission website here.

How to vote?

Election packages are posted to all electors on the electoral roll. Electoral Rolls close on the 27th of August 5.00pm. Packages can be returned by mail or hand-delivered and placed in a sealed ballot box at the Shire Administration Building, Prinsep Street, up until 6.00pm on Election Day. The count commences at 6.00pm that same day and the results will be available later that evening.

Can I nominate to become a Councillor?

To nominate as a candidate in a local government election, electors must complete a valid nomination application and present it to the Returning Officer prior to the close of nominations on September 9th 2021, 4.00pm. Prior to nominating, all candidates must complete the online candidate induction from the Department of Local Government, Sport & Cultural Industries website. For more information please visit the WALGA website.

View the official 'Call for Nominations' here.

Important Dates

Electoral Rolls Close 27 August 2021, 5.00pm
Nominations Open 2 September 2021
Nominations Close 9 September 2021, 4.00pm
Voting Closes  16 October 2021, 6.00pm

Who are our current Councillors?

The Shire of Dundas has a great team of elected members. Meet them here.

Official Notices

To view the official Close of Enrolments Notice, click here.

To view the official Election Notice, click here.